Tennis shoes . . . ?

June 14, 2007 at 1:49 am 2 comments

So, today I’ve only made one major “mom” error, with several connected small ones. I was late to my son’s tennis lessons, AND I went to the wrong tennis courts. You see, I had to borrow a tennis racket (my daughter left their racket at her lessons on Monday) and, catch this — I had to also borrow tennis shoes for my son! (Can you believe my kid doesn’t own tennis shoes??) He always wears Merrills in the winter and crocs or sandals in the summer. He doesn’t have PE in school yet, so I just never needed tennis shoes. That sounds so unAmerican, doesn’t it?

I can remember having gym class everyday in school. My kids only have it once every 3 days. (and we wonder about childhood obesity…) Well, I got to thinking about this whole “shoe” thing, and I it brought me to a musing about the whole thing . . . . when I got to college, my roommate was from the East coast. She thought it was the funniest thing that I called my tennis shoes, “gym shoes”. As I saw it, these were the type of shoes you wore in gym class, which we had everyday. Why on earth would I call them “tennis shoes” when I had never played a day of tennis in my life, but I had gone to gym class five days a week for 12 years!?! When we weren’t in gym class, by the way, we wore “school shoes”. Makes sense, huh?

Today’s kids have running shoes (with separate ones for trail running), soccer shoes, tennis shoes, cross-trainers, etc., etc. . . . and “school” shoes consist of flip flops, crocs, boots, etc. It’s nuts! So, should I save the whole “soda” vs. “pop” thing for another day?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Hello world! Does Pirate Booty meet a food group?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alex  |  June 14, 2007 at 2:02 pm

    Thought you’d find this “soda” vs “pop” vs “coke” map interesting… 🙂
    http://popvssoda.com:2998/countystats/total-county.html

    Reply
  • 2. Gail  |  June 14, 2007 at 6:51 pm

    Life has come full cycle. When I grew up, gym shoes were for ALL sporting activities – in the gym or on the playground. When you became interested in volleyball and running, I had a hard time dealing with the fact that you always seemed to want/need another pair of “gym” shoes. I, of course, viewed it as a ‘want’, you viewed it as a ‘need’. Mom

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts


