Thank GOD for Church Camp!

June 19, 2007 at 3:44 am 1 comment

Well, today I was in tears again, but “happy” tears!  Two of my sons are in Vacation Bible School, which is a camp that many churches have for one week in the summer — entirely run on a volunteer basis.  They get the curriculum from a national organization, so the same program is being run all over the country, all by volunteers.

I talked to the Director about taking my special needs son for the week at camp.  (They sort of know him from Sunday school;  we just started attending this church.)  She was more than willing to try.  I convinced her that he needed his own “person/aide” for it to be a successful week, but that it could be an 11 or 12 year old, not necessarily an adult.  He just needs that little bit extra supervision, or he will throw off the adult-to-child-ratios.   They arranged for him to have an aide, and she was about 12 to 14 years old.  She looked a bit nervous as I explained my son to her . . . but when I came to pick him up, she was all smiles!  She said that he had a fabulous time!  (which is nice to know, since he can’t talk and tell me that himself)  He even danced up on stage with his group!

So, thank God for VBS!  I am so grateful for the volunteers, the church, the whole thing!!  I am grateful for a week of sanity, where my son gets to do something organized and social and away from mommy.  Thank you, Lord, for fabulous people with big, caring hearts!!!

(By the way, my older “normal” son, had a fabulous time, too!)

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Courting Couples Cry, Cry, Cry, Cry, Cry . . . . and Cry!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Gail  |  June 19, 2007 at 12:42 pm

    I am constantly in awe of you, and the way that you handle your life. I am with you, crying sad tears and happy tears. I love you. Mom

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts


