Contests — Who Enters them & Who Wins them?

July 29, 2007 at 4:40 pm 1 comment

 I’ve got a friend who enters every contest she can find.  I find it somewhat amusing all the things she tries to win, and I wonder if she ever really does win enough of these contests to make it worth it to enter all of them.  But, some people tend to be luckier than others.  For example, I once won a year-long supply of Sam Adams Beer.  Yup, I did!  I ended up giving a ton of it away, because I’m not really a beer drinker.  You see, I was hoping to win a trip to the Rose Bowl.

I  used to watch Michigan football games at a bar where the U of M Alumni club met.  So, they were raffling off a trip to the Rose Bowl one season.  Every Saturday that I went to watch a game, I entered the raffle.  So, the final game of the season, they did the drawing.  My girlfriend and I decided that if we won, we’d take each other (this was in my pre-serious-boyfriend and pre-marriage days).  We were just tipsy enough to think that we had a chance . . . and then it happened.  The Sam Adams Beer rep threw in the idea of raffling off a year’s supply of beer.  So, the first name they drew won the beer.  And they drew my name first.  Can you believe it?  I came so close to winning the trip!  I ended up with beer. (I think the trip should have been the first name drawn, with the beer being the consolation prize!  Don’t you think??)

In any event, my husband is now convinced that I tend to win silly contests.  So, here goes another silly contest:  I’m entering one for a flat screen tv.   The contest is through a website that I like: Five for Minutes for Mom contest, and it’s sponsored by Best Buy
I’ll let you know how it turns out.

Please leave me a comment if you’ve won a silly contest.  I’m very curious as to who actually does win these things . . .

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Old Friends — Great Friends A Woman on the Verge . . .

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. thediaperdiaries  |  August 1, 2007 at 1:49 am

    yes, in fact I have won a t-shirt and a book recently.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts


