Oh, the Places You’ll Eat!

September 22, 2007 at 3:41 am 1 comment

Today I was struck by just how inconvenient it is to feed a baby. With my older kids, I can hand them all sorts of snack food in almost any location, especially the car, and even while I am driving. I always keep a pack of “emergency food” in the glove compartment, just in case my kids are starving ~ or extremely bored. It’s the kind of junk food that I don’t usually feed my kids (pre-packaged cheese & crackers), but there have been moments when those packets saved my life! (Okay, not my life, but most certainly my sanity!!)

Babies, however, require a lot of stuff and set up. Bottles require fresh water at just the right temperature. So, even though it’s easy to pack a bottle and some pre-measured formula in my diaper bag, the water and the issue of temperature still exist. Now that baby #4 is 7 months old, we have added baby food to the mix. So, I usually pack a few jars or plastic containers of food in a ziploc baggie with a baby spoon and a bib. And, of course, I always have wipes on hand for clean-up. So there you have it; “it” being breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Just this past week, I have fed my baby his baby food while doing a multitude of things. Our basement is currently under construction, as we’re adding a bedroom and a bathroom. So, I have been running around trying to get all sorts of things picked out, purchased, and organized. The other day, after spending an hour with the guy at Lowe’s going over bathtubs, toilets, faucets and the like, I fed my baby his food while I sat at the customer service counter ordering stuff. Another day, I was in Home Depot, and I was in a rush. I was standing at their special services counter ordering some stuff, and all the while I was squatting down to spoon some mushed pears into the baby’s mouth. Yesterday, I put him in his carseat and stood next to the van feeding him in a parking lot.

Later that same day, I was home and cooking dinner. I strategically placed the high chair in the middle of the kitchen and stirred food, fed the baby, chopped food, fed the baby, washed dishes, fed the baby.  It was crazy!  Last week, however, was even more nuts.  I had to bring the baby to a dentist appointment.  So, I propped his bottle up while I was getting my teeth x-rayed.  Then, while the tech was developing my x-rays, I was spooning “plum oat banana” into my son’s mouth.  I can’t believe I had time to feed him, wipe him off, clean off the bib, the spoon, etc.  Wow!

One of my favorites, however, is feeding the baby at soccer practice.  I propped him up and started spoon feeding him sweet potatoes, only to hear my 4 year old causing a ruckus down at the playground.  So, I ran down the hill to deal with my 4 year old, and ran back up to continue the baby’s dinner.  Well, he was rolling around in the grass and laughing — with the sweet potatoes acting as a “glue” for the grass that was all over his face and body!   Too cute, and messy!

All this to say, “boom, boom, ain’t it great to be #4?  boom, boom, ain’t it great to be nuts like us?  Silly and foolish all day long . . . ”  (Please say you remember singing this song as a child;  otherwise you probably really do think I’m nuts...)  Well, thank God my #4 is flexible!  I’m now keeping a list of feeding locations:

  • parking lot
  • Home Depot
  • Numerous Restaurants
  • Soccer sidelines
  • Lowe’s
  • Dentist’s Office
  • Mid-kitchen while cooking
  • Car seat
  • Stroller
  • High chair
  • Someone’s lap
  • ???
Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

How Many Degrees Does it Take to Install a Carseat?? 100 Things About Me

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. thediaperdiaries  |  September 24, 2007 at 3:17 am

    um yeah, I don’t know that song. I must be way to young 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts


